This article explains the basics of how locking fields on the Course Catalog affects the management of courses.
Any field that displays on the Course editor can be locked to limit edits made by other users. When locked on the Course Catalog, attributes for Grading Tasks and Standards remain editable on both the Course Master and Course. However, deletion of existing data on the Course (assigned grading tasks, assessments, etc.) is NOT possible, even when the user has the correct tool rights.
Reported data
Course information is the core reporting information unless the Section is populated. This means:
- Values populated in the Section Information fields take precedence over the values populated in the Course Information fields.
- Section Information fields appear blank unless they are populated manually.
- Section Information fields should only be populated when the values need to differ from the Course Information fields.
See the Locked Fields on Course Information and Section Information explanation on the Course Catalog article for details
Locked fields
When an item is marked to be locked, changes made to the Course Master are pushed to the courses in the selected calendars. Items that are locked cannot be modified on the Course, with the exception of the following. Behavior for locking these fields is noted below:
- Assessments - when locked, information copies forward and is pushed, but changes can be made to assessments at the course level.
- Terms - when locked, information from the Course Master is pushed to courses, but changes can be made at the course level.
- Schedules - when locked, information from the Course Master is pushed to courses, but changes can be made at the course level.
- Period - when locked, information from the Course Master is pushed to courses, but changes can be made at the course level.
Related resources
- Course Masters landing page
- Course Masters how-to guides
- ..
- ..